20 new words from Jane Eyre

I’ve just finished reading Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë today. I discovered it on my phone bundled with the reader app. Such high-quality writing I can only gently aspire to. It was hard to put down. I found myself dipping into it anytime I had a spare moment, over breakfast, during my lunch break, before bed. Any time I could avail myself to the rich and engrossing tale of Jane Eyre.

I loved reading it, and you may well too. It’s a self-evident classic. After a few chapters I looked it up online, which got me up to speed with it’s place in the canon. I’m certain I’ll come back and read it again in time.

Here’s 20 new words I found in the course of the tale:

syncope

A loss of consciousness when someone faints, a swoon


drear

Shortened form of ‘dreary’


copse

A thicket of small trees or shrubs


cicatrise

To heal a wound through scarring (by causing a scar or cicatrix to form)


bombazine

A fabric made from silk, wool or cotton dyed black


fustian

A kind of coarse twilled cotton or cotton and linen stuff


physiognomy

The art of telling fortunes by inspection of the face


threap

To scold, rebuke


succour

Aid, assistance or relief given to one in distress


meed

A payment or recompense made for services rendered or in recognition of some achievement


emulous

Ambitious or competitive


solus

Alone, sole, only, by oneself with no others around


sylvan

Pertaining to the forest or woodlands


impetuosity

The quality of making rash or arbitrary decisions, especially in an impulsive manner


slattern

A sexually promiscuous woman, prostitute.


hebdomadal

Of something that occurs once a week


expostulate

To protest or remonstrate; to reason earnestly with a person on some impropriety of conduct


animadversion

A critical remark


poltroon

A total coward


truculent

Cruel or savage


 

My favourites are sylvan, hebdomadal and expostulate

3 thoughts on “20 new words from Jane Eyre

    • Yeah Physiognomy is a good one. I haven’t read a lot of Victorian literature really, Alice in Wonderland and now Jane Eyre are the only two from that period. I started reading A Tale of Two Cities, but so far it hasn’t “drawn me in” like Jane Eyre did.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It isn’t my favourite literature, I’ve had to study it a lot though. But the use of interesting and obscure words is definitely my favourite part!

        Like

Leave a Reply

